Chandigarh mayoral polls: INDIA bloc to fight BJP first time in elections, says AAP’s Raghav Chadha

Aam Aadmi Party leader and Rajya Sabha member Raghav Chadha on Tuesday said the Opposition INDIA alliance is all set to fight its first election against the BJP and that the Chandigarh mayoral polls will put the foundation stone of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Addressing a press conference, Chadha said, “INDIA bloc is going to fight BJP for the first time in the elections.”

Speaking about the upcoming Chandigarh mayoral polls, scheduled to be held on Thursday, Raghav Chadha said, “We believe that BJP will be defeated in the Chandigarh mayoral polls. It’s a direct fight between the INDIA bloc and the BJP.”

“The AAP and the Congress will fight the Chandigarh mayoral polls together, which will be a curtain raiser for the Lok Sabha election.”

“After the formal announcement on the mayoral polls, Delhi Chief Minister and AAP convenor Arvind Kejriwal had met Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge and Rahul Gandhi, during which several issues were discussed and the resolve to contest the elections together got strengthened,” Chadha said.

“The mayoral candidate will be from the Aam Aadmi Party, while the two deputy mayor candidates will be from Congress,” Raghav Chadha said.

On Tuesday, the AAP and the Congress forged an alliance for the upcoming Chandigarh mayoral polls.

Under the arrangement, the AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar Tita will fight for the mayor’s seat while the Congress nominees Gurpreet Singh Gabi and Nirmala Devi will contest the posts of senior deputy mayor and deputy mayor.

The development came amid the two constituents of the INDIA bloc holding talks over seat sharing for this year’s Lok Sabha polls.

With the AAP and the Congress deciding on a tie-up for the January 18 Chandigarh mayoral polls, the contest is going to be two-way and observers believe that the two parties will have an edge over the BJP.

In the 35-member Chandigarh Municipal Corporation, the BJP has 14 councillors. It also has an ex-officio member MP who has voting rights.

The AAP has 13 councillors and the Congress seven.

The Shiromani Akali Dal has one councillor in the House.

Published By:

Vani Mehrotra

Published On:

Jan 16, 2024

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *