Afcon 2023: Ronwen Williams saves four spot kicks as South Africa beat Cape Verde on penalties

Ronwen Williams makes a save for South Africa at Afcon 2023
Ronwen Williams denied Gilson Benchimol with a superb save in second-half added time of normal time and stopped four penalties as South Africa beat Cape Verde

Ronwen Williams saved four spot kicks to help South Africa reach the semi-finals of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations on penalties following a 0-0 draw against Cape Verde.

Bebe, Willy Semedo, Laros Duarte and Patrick Andrade were all denied in the shootout by the outstanding Williams, who also made a spectacular late save to tip Gilson Benchimol’s first-time strike against the woodwork and ensure the gruelling quarter-final entered extra time.

Cape Verde goalkeeper Vozinha made two exceptional saves in quick succession shortly after extra time began to deny Mihlali Mayambela and Teboho Mokoena.

South Africa will now have the chance to avenge their defeat to Nigeria on their last appearance in the Afcon semi-finals, when they were beaten 2-0 by the Super Eagles in 2000.

The 1996 champions will attempt to bridge a 24-place gap in Fifa’s rankings when they meet the three-time winners in Bouake on Wednesday (17:00 GMT).


Cape Verde

Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Évora Dias
  • 23Moreira
  • 5Evans Costa
  • 4Lopes
  • 8Moreira Fernandes
  • 10Monteiro AlvarengaSubstituted ford’Encarnação Duarteat 86′minutes
  • 26Gonçalves Pereira de PinaSubstituted forCorreia Andradeat 65′minutes
  • 18Rocha SantosSubstituted forSilva Teixeira 119′minutes
  • 20Mendes da GraçaBooked at 27minsSubstituted forJohnson Semedo Afonsoat 65′minutes
  • 7Borges CabralSubstituted forBenchimol Tavaresat 87′minutes
  • 11Mendes RodriguesSubstituted forDias Correiaat 72′minutes


  • 2dos Santos Tavares
  • 3Monteiro Sanches Borges
  • 6Correia Andrade
  • 9Benchimol Tavares
  • 13Pereira Fernandes
  • 14D’Encarnação Duarte
  • 15d’Encarnação Duarte
  • 16Tavares dos Santos
  • 17Johnson Semedo Afonso
  • 19Silva Teixeira Jr.
  • 21Dias Correia
  • 24Garcia da Silva

South Africa

Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Williams
  • 20MudauSubstituted forMobbieat 103′minutes
  • 18Kekana
  • 14Mvala
  • 6Modiba
  • 4Mokoena
  • 13Sithole
  • 23MorenaSubstituted forMasekoat 63′minutesSubstituted forMashegoat 114′minutes
  • 11ZwaneSubstituted forAdamsat 90′minutes
  • 10TauSubstituted forMayambelaat 85′minutes
  • 9MakgopaSubstituted forLepasaat 103′minutes


  • 2Mobbie
  • 3Mashego
  • 5Xulu
  • 7Appollis
  • 8Adams
  • 12Maseko
  • 15Monare
  • 16Mothwa
  • 17Lepasa
  • 19Sibisi
  • 21Mayambela
  • 22Goss

Jean Jacques Ndala Ngambo

Live Text

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *