Bihar floor test: RJD, CPIML MLAs at Tejashwi Yadav residence in Patna, JDU issues whip

Ahead of the much-awaited floor test of the newly formed NDA government in Bihar, legislators of opposition ‘Mahagathbandhan’ have started arriving at Rashtriya Janata Party (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav’s residence in Patna.

According to sources, MLAs of RJD and the Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) Liberation have gathered at the former Deputy Chief Minister’s house.

Notably, after the meeting, legislators were prevented from returning home, with their support staff observed bringing essential items such as clothes and blankets.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting at Tejashwi Yadav’s residence, RJD MP Manoj Jha said that legislators of the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ have decided to stay together for the next 48 hours and were enjoying their time together.

When asked about what was happening inside Tejashwi’s house, Jha said, “Andar antakshari chal rahi hai (they are singing songs inside)”.

Reacting to the development, Janata Dal United (JDU) claimed that MLAs are being held inside Tejashwi’s house, which suggests that the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ is afraid and has lost out even before the floor test.

Bihar BJP leader Kuntal Krishna took a jibe at the Opposition and said that Tejashwi Yadav has kidnapped his own MLAs.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) initiated a two-day program for its legislators in Bodh Gaya, starting on Saturday. Party sources clarified that the training program was pre-scheduled and unrelated to the impending floor test.

In contrast, the Congress dispatched its legislators to Hyderabad, while the Janata Dal United (JDU) organised a lunch for its legislators at the residence of Minister Shrawan Kumar. Notably, some MLAs, including Bima Bharti, Sudarshan, Shalini Mishra, Dilip Rai, and Dr. Sanjeev, were absent.

A whip has been issued by the JD(U) to ensure the presence of all party MLAs inside the Assembly on Monday when the newly formed NDA government will seek a trust vote.

JD(U) chief whip Shravan Kumar said those defying the whip “will lose their membership” even as he maintained that it was a “routine exercise that takes place ahead of every assembly session”.

In a dramatic turn of events, Nitish Kumar had on January 28 taken oath as the Chief Minister for a record ninth time, ditching the ‘Mahagathbandhan‘ and the opposition-led INDIA bloc and forming a new government with the BJP in Bihar, which he had dumped less than 18 months ago.

Published By:

Sahil Sinha

Published On:

Feb 10, 2024

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *