Delhi government bans plying of BS-III and BS-IV four-wheelers in Delhi-NCR region amid worsening air quality

The Delhi government banned BS-III petrol and BS-IV diesel four-wheelers from plying in the national capital on Sunday in view of an order issued by the Centre amid worsening air quality in the city and NCR.

The central government on Sunday ordered a ban on non-essential construction work and plying of BS-III petrol and BS-IV diesel four-wheelers in the Delhi-National Capital Region.

The Commission for Air Quality Management, a statutory body responsible for forming air pollution reduction strategies for the region and their implementation, noted a significant rise in Delhi’s AQI (458 and 457 at 10 am and 11 am respectively) due to unfavourable climatic conditions and local pollution sources.

Anticipating a prolonged period of severe air quality, the committee decided to implement GRAP Stage-III curbs (‘severe’ air quality index range) immediately to prevent further deterioration.

In its order, the Delhi transport department said the sub-committee for the operationalisation of the revised GRAP has reviewed the air quality scenario as well as the forecast for meteorological conditions and air quality index in Delhi.

“As per directions as provided under Stage III of the revised GRAP and under Section 115 of Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, it is hereby ordered that there shall be restrictions to ply BS-III petrol and BS-IV diesel LMVs (four-wheelers) in NCT of Delhi with immediate effect till further orders (except for vehicles deployed in emergency services, police vehicles and government vehicles used for enforcement),” the order said.

“If any BS-III petrol and BS-IV diesel LMVs (four-wheeler) found plying on road will be prosecuted under section 194 (1) of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, which provides a fine of Rs 20,000,” it said.

GRAP is the Centre’s air pollution control plan implemented in the region during winter. The GRAP categorises actions into four stages: Stage I “Poor” (AQI 201-300); Stage II “Very Poor” (AQI 301-400); Stage III “Severe” (AQI 401-450); and Stage IV “Severe Plus” (AQI>450).

Published By:

Ashutosh Acharya

Published On:

Jan 14, 2024

Tune In

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *